Linoit.com – #9 of 10 Tech Things

3

May 20, 2011 by k. liz

What is it? Linoit.com
What do I use it for? Collaboration in the classroom!
How long does it take? This can be prepared in less than 20 minutes.
My rating: ******* 7/10

I’m sure some of you have already checked out this website, but it is new to me this week, and I’m really thrilled with it! Some of you may also have heard of wallwisher. Wallwisher is a nice site, but I personally would prefer Linoit.com. Basically, this is a place that you set up for students (or colleagues) to visit and post ideas. The easiest way to explain is to show you! Here is an example of what my class did today. We were practicing with adjectives, so I had prepared the board by making yellow¬†sticky notes of most of the vocabulary words and an arrow pointing to where I wanted my students to leave their information. After about 30-45 minutes, this is what we ended up with:


Now, maybe this is all just jumbled to you, but I was able to monitor my students working as they were looking for definitions, pictures, synonyms, sentences, etc.

The things I love about this website: 

1. It uploads in real time. I projected this on the screen, and my students were able to see their results instantly (and I was able to tell which students weren’t working!)

2. It does not take up too much bandwidth.

3. It is fairly simple to navigate (the only thing is you will have to demonstrate loading a picture the first time – you must save it to your computer and then upload the file when prompted, but it is pretty easy once you get the hang of it!)

4. The students will be able to use this to review on their own time.

5. You can delete unnecessary or unwanted posts!! (Something I had not figured out how to do on wallwisher, but wished I had!)

6. You can edit the posts someone else posted. This is really great because you can encourage the students to just work, and then later you can go through and do some error correction.

7. Things generally stay where you put them, which I can’t say is true for wallwisher. I kept getting frustrated when everything was jumbled and unorganized.

Now, I used this for vocabulary, because I like giving my students some reign to explore the vocabulary and then have them teach it or give examples – but I am sure there are countless ways of using this in class! You could use it for compiling information for a writing project. You could use it to organize grammar structures. You could use it to create an infographic based on a listening exercise . . . the possibilities are endless!! Let me know if you’ve used this in your classrooms for anything!

3 thoughts on “Linoit.com – #9 of 10 Tech Things

  1. seburnt says:

    I share your frustration with Wallwisher and eventually gave up trying to use it. At first it seemed so useful, but with the automatically rearrangements and serious loading issues, it was time to move on to something more functional (and visually appealing).

    Thanks for posting your ideas! I’ll link your post to mine so we can start to build a bank of ideas for using Linoit. =)

  2. Dear friend,
    I am Thilini.I am 13 years old.My school is Maliyadewa modle school.I have one brother.Last month we went to badagamuva forest to do a project.There are lots of animals and many kinds of trees.We went there with Mrs Thamara , Mrs.Lakmini and with my friends.this pictures are very beautiful.

  3. I am Chehara.I’m 14 years old.I have two younger sisters.My hobbies are reading books,browsing internet.I am from Sri Lanka.I like these pictures.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 798 other followers

My other blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

