Lifelong Learning – Reading

Leave a comment

October 17, 2011 by k. liz

Well, I’m stealing from Freire again! This is the same book I was reading about this time last week.

I have been reading Pedagogy of Freedom: Ethics, Democracy, and Civic Courage  for one of my classes and have been really impressed with Paulo Freire and his ideas. I still have a lot to sift through as I am reading, but I came across a paragraph tonight that I wanted to adopt as a vision statement. Perhaps I will make some modifications, but here are some of Freire’s goals in teaching, and I’d like to make them mine as well:

This is the road I have tried to follow as a teacher: living my convictions; being open to the process of knowing and sensitive to the experience of teaching as an art; being pushed forward by the challenges that prevent me from bureaucratizing my practice; accepting my limitations, yet always conscious of the necessary effort to overcome them and aware that I cannot hide them because to do so would be a failure to respect both my students and myself as a teacher.

Curiosity: the essence of Friere’s philosophy of education.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 798 other followers

My other blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

