Weekend Wrap-Up

2

April 14, 2012 by k. liz

1. Blog: This is probably more technically a link, but I have another link for today! I just found this cool website where a group of 6 teachers tackle a different problem or question every two weeks. The one for this time period was very pertinent to me as I prepare for going to Africa. The question is, “What are some strategies for working with large classes?” You can explore the site for yourself, but here is one of the answers to the question that I thought was very interesting. (by Chuck Sandy.)

2. News: Interesting news for education in Turkey. There are lots of reforms on the horizon. It will be interesting to see how they pan out and what comes of them. Here is an article from Hurriyet addressing a new “democratizing” curriculum and also the new age and organization reforms that are going into place next year. What do you think about the curriculum?

3: Graphic: This is a super interesting infographic! It actually increased my respect for Wikipedia. Before seeing this, I had always thought of wikipedia as negative, and only visited it if I needed quick information that I was not using for something professional. I think the most interesting and telling part of this graphic is that 56% of students stop researching if there is not much information on wikipedia. Anyways, food for thought!!
Wikipedia
Via: Open-Site.org

4: Link: I went to a workshop by Nik Peachey last weekend, and really enjoyed his resources and explanations on how to use technology effectively in the classroom. It is evident that he has practiced and mastered this! Here is one of his sites of tools for language learners. It is a compilation of all the things that he finds and links into one place for teachers to make use of. Enjoy!!

5: Quote: Quote found on pinterest (no author ascribed.) Picture thanks to jpaulbarker

6: Question: What was your favorite book or story as a child?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. chuck sandy says:

    Thanks so much for finding my blog post on the http://itdi.pro/ blog about working with large classes. I’m so happy you found it useful. Good luck in Africa. Where will you be?

    • k. liz says:

      I really enjoyed your post, and I need to find time to go back and explore the site a lot more!!
      I am directing an English camp in Senegal. I’ve traveled and taught there the last two summers, but this is the first year for our camp. (www.rev59.org) So . . . I’m pretty excited, but also hoping to be a lot more thoroughly prepared and ready for the large groups.

      Look forward to reading more of your posts!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 798 other followers

My other blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

