Ahhh . . . the weekend!

Leave a comment

March 19, 2011 by k. liz

So, yesterday was interesting, and made me very ready for the weekend. However, I must say that my students are hilarious. I used Skype in my classroom again yesterday, and I am very pleased with the results. However, today I just want to share a few of the things my students do and say that make me want to go back over and over again . . .

1. Yesterday I am teaching special greetings, including Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and Happy Easter. Me: “Do any of you know what Easter is?” My student, “Oh, yeah, like easter and wester.”

2. My class is speaking on Skype, and my sister-in-law was having a bit of trouble hearing the students, so one volunteered to come up and speak to her so she could hear. The microphone on  my computer is in the upper left-hand corner, but he preferred to pick up the hamburger speaker and talk to her much in the way that King Henry approaches the waffle microphone at the beginning of the King’s Speech. I never told him that it wasn’t a microphone.

3. So, my students are talking to my sister-in-law in Kentucky. They decide to start asking if she knows Hidayet Turkoglu, Tarkan, and Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Upon answering no, they all wanted me to close the computer, and scolded her that they knew Barack Obama and Kobe Bryant, why doesn’t she know any Turkish people? I felt pretty bad for her . . . but it was still funny.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

