Cheating, Exams, and other Randomness

Leave a comment

April 6, 2011 by k. liz

So, I haven’t been consistent this week. But, we have exams, and I don’t feel as inspired to write when I spend all morning staring down a room full of nervous students who are waiting for me to turn my back so they can whisper answers or do their secret code.

DOES ANYONE OUT THERE HAVE GOOD STRATEGIES FOR STOPPING PERPETUAL CHEATERS?!

I understand that there are many people in this world that value a score above their actually understanding, and those people make it difficult to proctor tests. Add onto that that I actually do like my students, and don’t want to see them fail, and yet they put me in an impossible predicament! Does anyone have suggestions for curbing cheating during exams? My best idea this week was to put a camera in the corner of the classroom. Now, the exams are about an hour long. That would have killed my battery, so I didn’t even turn it on . . . but they didn’t know that until the end.

Moving on . . . because the exams are finished, thankfully, and I don’t have to play mean police tomorrow. Today I was also doing the speaking exams where students come in and speak to three teachers for 2 minutes. Lots of funny moments happened, but one of my favorites was when the student finished, walked out the door, heaved a sigh of relief, and then proceeded to tell his friends, in my Turkish colleagues’ hearing that you just need to smile and nod if you don’t understand and they’ll be happy! So much for my encouraging demeanor! Guess I’ve gotta be mean again! I also appreciated the student who described a place in his hometown as being built “500 years before Christmas.”

Well, we are wrapping up the term. Tomorrow will be some more grading, then figuring out what level all of the students will be in, assigning classes, and such. Next week we start right back in with a new term, new classes, and hopefully a new level!

Any ideas or comments on . . . anything semi-related to this post? I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

