I finally Wordled myself!

1

April 8, 2011 by k. liz

Yep! Finally! I’ve been watching all you ESL gurus out there wordle your blogs and do some reflecting on what you write about. I thought, hm, that’s cool, but wordle always froze up my internet connection. I’ve tried it several times since moving to Turkey and never had any success. However, by accident today, I found that I just have to enter the full address plus the /create. So . . . here is the link for wordle that works for me: wordle.

Now, granted, my blog is only about a month old, so this is just a little sampler of what I hope to have someday. That being said, I was kind of surprised to see what showed up. I had expected to see words such as speaking, lesson plans, reading . . . but surprising to me, those were not very prominent!

So, what do I write about? Well, apparently I count time as a very important part of posts I write. And who doesn’t? I can remember making lesson plans (and I still sometimes do) where I spend hours and hours on what I think will be a good lesson. But, it gets very wearing to do that for every lesson in a week. So, I do count time as an important factor of the ideas I’m sharing, and I’m hoping to save you all time by presenting usable materials that do not require a lot of time. My other two most used words were use and one. Well, use makes sense, but I must say, it sounds kind of boring, so maybe I should find a better word for that. One? I don’t know. I’m not sure why I point out one so many times? I guess giving different ideas or talking about different students leads me to use one a lot.

What word do I probably overuse? Interesting. Hmmmm . . . yep. I use that a lot.

Students, teaches, class, long . . . These are my next most used words. I guess those make sense for the kind of blog I am going for. But, I was surprised to find wife the same size as those others. I am the wife, so I don’t think I use the word a lot, but then I thought that maybe it was because of this post about a speaking activity.

What surprised me? Well, wife, like I just mentioned. But, there were no super surprising words that I just couldn’t believe I had written on my blog. They all seem fairly connected to my thoughts and ideas.

However, I think I shall have to do this in a few months after I’ve collected a library of posts and see what it says about me then.

If you haven’t done this yet, why not? Go give it a try! Just put your blog url into the wordle website, and reflect!

One thought on “I finally Wordled myself!

  1. Rick says:

    Hi there,

    This has definitely been a fun blog challenge, hasn’t it? As you’ve just started in the blogging world – Welcome!!! – it’ll be particularly interesting to see what your word cloud will tell of your blog in a couple of months’ time. 🙂

    Looking forward to reading some more of your posts! Let’s see if wife keeps showing up, shall we? 🙂

    H.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

