Summer is here!

Leave a comment

June 4, 2011 by k. liz

Well, I warned you. This is going to quickly become a journey blog rather than a teaching blog for the summer. I am at the moment on a plane somewhere over West Africa and will soon be landing in Dakar. I am very excited to be back here again this year and excited to see some friends that we met last year. I am sitting here tonight trying to come up with my goals for the summer. It is exciting to think that I have two months with no institutional responsibility ahead of me, but at the same time that sobers me. I don’t want to waste two months!! And so I have created a list complete with check boxes. Yes, I am definitely a list-er. Kind of surprisingly my list didn’t have too many professional development items on it yet. Most of my goals are related to spending time reading and writing this summer. I guess as a whole I want to really develop some good discipline in those areas because I think that those will translate into helpful development disciplines when the school year does start up again. I feel that starting to use twitter and reading blogs this year was one of the best things I could have done for my professional development as a teacher. I hope this summer to hone in on those skills and use them even more effectively next year to become a better teacher.

What are your goals for the summer? Are you planning things out or just taking it as it comes? Whatever you do I hope you find it enjoyable and beneficial!

Oh on a side note: I saw lightening from above the clouds tonight. How cool is that?!?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

