Kindergarten Here I Come!!

2

July 11, 2011 by k. liz

So, I just got word this week that I will definitely be teaching Kindergarten in the fall! I am so thrilled!! I had been hoping to hear that news, and just got it this week. However, this does have quite big implications for some changes in my teaching styles to come! I’d love to hear any suggestions or ideas you have for me.

The fall is shaping up to be a pretty exciting time for me this year. We are moving to Istanbul, then I will be teaching Kindergarten, and I will also be starting my Master’s Degree in Applied Linguistics. I’m getting pretty pumped about the changes, but right now just enjoying summer and some projects that I have been working on during my free time.

Anyhow, I’d love to hear some comments and suggestions or advice you have for me for teaching Kindergarten this year. In the mean time, I’d like to share my sweet deal I found today. Everything in this picture was $1.00!! That means that tax included I scored everything here for $18.02!! Here’s what I got:

7 sets of 4 small erasable white boards
2 normal sized erasable white boards
2 sets of magnetic letters
1 set of magnetic numbers
3 sets of flashcards (Sight Words, Phonics 1, and Phonics 2)
and 2 pocket files – one 3×5 sized and one full sized.

2 thoughts on “Kindergarten Here I Come!!

  1. T Bestwick says:

    Congratulations on the new job! Teaching VYLs can be great fun, but it also brings its fair share of challenges 🙂
    Make sure you have lots of songs – they love singing and it’s always good to have a CD to put on whilst they’re working so they can sing along.
    Lower your expectations but never cease to be amazed – sometimes you’ll have everyone on task and everything will go to plan and other days it won’t.
    Be prepared for tears and learn when to ignore them.
    Enjoy yourself and relax – they’ll pick up how you’re feeling and go with it 🙂
    Have fun!

    • k. liz says:

      Thanks for the advice!! I’m surely very excited, but keep hearing young kids stories, and it sometimes makes me nervous! I’ll make sure to stock up on CDs before I head back over. Thanks so much for the positive encouragement! Hopefully it’ll prompt many a blog post on here!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

