We Ask Questions

Leave a comment

August 25, 2011 by k. liz

So, I am now spending the majority of my days decorating and preparing for 12 little learners to enter my classroom in just a few short weeks. Today was door decorating and creating some posters. Here is the one I made today that I hope will be used and used and over-used: asking questions! Part of the PYP curriculum is the Inquiry Circle, so asking questions is critical to that curriculum, but I believe they are crucial to learning in life as well. I’m anticipating the first few weeks being a little slow to start since almost all of my students are native Turkish speakers, and all of the classroom activities will be done in English. I made this chart to remind them of the questions they need to ask as they discover new things, as well as when they need to ask me a question! We’ll see how it goes!

In case you can’t see the poster clearly, it reads: “We ask questions” followed by five questions and their Turkish translations:

1. Who? – Kim?
2. What? – Ne?
3. Where? – Nerede?
4. When? – Ne zaman?
5. Why? – Neden?

In between the translations I added my own little pictures to illustrate what the answer would be so that the students can remember which question to ask when (for example, there is a clock for when, a person for who, etc.)

Feel free to use this as you’d like. If you use it, please leave a comment and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

