Lifelong Learner Challenge – Writing

Leave a comment

September 13, 2011 by k. liz

I’m back with another of my lifelong learner challenge posts. My Tuesday posts for the next six weeks will be simply me working through thoughts through the avenue of writing. I’m excited about this, but at the same time, I must warn you. If you continue reading you are subject to the thoughts that have been circling through my head throughout the day. So, without further ado . . .

God of the Hill, and the Valley

I was reminded this week of a story in the Bible that I’d forgotten about. It is a story of kings and battles, and this morning I decided to revisit it and refresh my memory. In all honesty, this story didn’t even strike a chord that I remembered, it felt new all over again, but it was great!

So, my summarized version of the story is this: there’s a king that has taken over most of the near-by world, and has somehow finagled other kings and thousands of people to act upon his whims and wait on him hand and foot. Even Ahab, the king of Israel, and fallen under his spell and was willing to send whatever the king demanded . . . until he asked for the silver, gold, and the best wives and children. Ahab obviously had to stop at that! Who was this king, I wonder, and what had happened that he thought he was entitled to the world?

Anyways, next, Ahab told the king that everything Israel had was his, but he stopped short of delivering the requested goods. So, the king responded by letting Ahab know that since he hadn’t delivered, his soldiers would come and do whatever they wanted with whatever they found. Ominous.

The story just gets more awesome after this. First, God communicates to Ahab to take his small army out and fight against the power-hungry king and his giant army. Well, in his state of drunkenness and confusion, Israel defeats the king and all his armies. The king escapes with his life though, and sends back threats letting Israel know that he is coming back. And here’s the greatest part:

And the servants of the king of Syria said to him, “Their gods are gods of the hills, and so they were stronger than we. But let us fight against them in the plain, and surely we shall be stronger than they.”

Seriously? What kind of a god is limited by his geographical location? I will tell you now that my God made the world, and He is neither bound by it nor subject to it. My God will succeed . . . period.

Sure enough, God stood up to defend his honor and prove that it wasn’t the hills which gave Israel the advantage. In the spring, the king came again, and Israel was victorious again.

The sad part of this story is that Ahab, the king that was the instrument God used to awesomely demonstrate his universal power ends the story by going “to his house vexed and sullen.” This was a result of his disobedience to the rules God had given him for the battle. God had instructed Ahab to destroy the king, but Ahab allowed him to live. God punished Ahab for his failure to follow the guidelines.

So, besides being a pretty eventful story and enjoyable to read, a few things stand out to me here.

  1. My God is not bound by anything.
  2. My God will prove himself to the world.
  3. My responsibility is to follow only what he has designed for me to do, and everything that he has designed for me to do.
Realizing and living in light of these facts, I know that I will see God reigning victoriously in this world and in my life.
My God is not bound by hills!!! 


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

