Lifelong Learning – Asking Questions

1

September 22, 2011 by k. liz

Well, I am a little at a loss tonight for a blog post, just being honest.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got about a billion and a half questions . . . I’m just a little at a loss for answers. I feel like I am always asking questions, but I’m not always getting answers. Sometimes that is due to lack of language, lack of time, lack of understanding, lack of answers . . . you know. So . . . I’m just going to leave you with the questions tonight. You can come up with the answers!

If it takes 5-6 years of second language instruction for a child to be academically proficient in the language, what should my main goal in the classroom be this year? 

Okay, so I did get a good answer before I even asked this question from my husband. If I can instill a love of learning and English in my students this year, then this year will have been profitable for them regardless of the amount of English they walk away with. 

How do we fix the problems created by teachers’ unions in the States? How do we find a way to give incentives and practice quality control among teachers?

Is test-taking actually an important life skill, like I am still compelled to claim? 

At what age do kids usually start learning to write their numbers? 

and

Why is it so easy to get so distracted and sucked in by technology? 

I’ve got to go now! I’ve been promising myself every morning that I would go to bed earlier than the night before. I’m not very good at keeping that promise! Goodnight!

One thought on “Lifelong Learning – Asking Questions

  1. Ted Barker says:

    Greetings from Colorado
    1. Who can improve on the answer you received for the first question.
    2. The situation is complex due to many human and administrative variables – the local chamber of commerce spoonsored the film, “Waiting for Superman” that discusses public education. If you haven’t seen it, do so – it gives one interesting perspective.
    3. Writing there numbers (or numerals). When the young students realize the benefit of representing anyhing from negative googol (1 followed by 100 zeros) to nothing to (positive) googol by a symbol rather than drawing four tomatoes or sixteen sticks etc. Similarly, the “invention” of zero was significant. Aren’t ease. usefulness, purpose, understanding, expression and application typical benefits thast serve as motivators of most learning and consequently skill development?
    4. Test taking — Since you didn’t design you students (that is follow prescriptive codes and standards to form them), a good way to evaluate and have them demostrate their personal and performance qualities are either by analysis, inspection or testing depending on the feature your wanting to confirm exists. So testing is necessary and valid, but may not be sufficient.
    5. Many distractions such as those assoicated with technology. at least communication-type technology, may be the result of desiring to learn what is going to happen in the future (e.g., if I do or make this “move”, or regarding what “story” is being protrayed, or what wiill he or she say next or conclude). Humbly, I say and for the first time first time in a very long time, I recently went nearly 21 days without turning on a television and both the waking hours and sleeping hours were very beneficial. Not that I was not without information sources, but I didn’t feel “sucked in” (technically, pushed by external forces into a vacuum) as I made the choices and used the time.
    Hmmm ! More than enough said.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

