Lifelong Learning – Writing

1

October 18, 2011 by k. liz

I am sitting here trying to think of something that I have been thinking of that isn’t related to something that I am reading or listening to or asking questions about. I’m coming to a quick realization that my mind is pretty much taken up at the time being. Ah, I knew that stream-of-conscious writing was good for me. That sparked a thought.

Memory Palaces:

Have you ever thought about memory palaces? There is a book that I have been wanting to read for ages, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. It is called The Memory Palace of Matteo Ricci. Have you ever thought through this concept? From what I’ve understood of it, it is constructing  a room, or a house, or in some people’s cases, an entire palace in your head in which to organize information. I am thinking that I could use maybe a city district right now.

It kind of reminds me of the movie Inception. I thoroughly enjoyed that movie. Though, I must say that I think it would be far less beneficial to construct dream worlds than memory worlds. To think about ordering your head in a way that makes any information you receive (providing that you put it away in the proper place) easily accessible whenever you want to retrieve it.

I realize that there are probably some scientific aspects of this which are true. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of it, but you look up and to the left, then it is supposed that you are lying because in the upper left cortex of your brain is where you store visual creations or something along those lines. I am not a neurologist, nor do I have a commanding understanding of what goes on behind my eyes above my neck. So, forget that if you know that the truth is otherwise about what goes on where.

Anyhow, the part that I find fascinating is to think that I could actually organize information. From what I’ve heard of Ricci’s methods (and I’ve heard of some people who use this tactic and claim that it works) he would visualize a place in his head and then walk through that place correlating different objects or pieces with certain information that he needed to remember. How ingenious! I guess that part of the stipulation of this exercise would being somewhat of a visual person. I don’t have much problem in that department, so I think the next time I need to, I will be employing this method.

And seeing as this is a very important post of mine, you should probably put it right inside your grand entrance . . . or maybe even you could tie it onto the door knocker.

Goodnight!

One thought on “Lifelong Learning – Writing

  1. Tied to the door knocker. I like it! 🙂
    I’ve heard of this technique. Golfers can clearly remember every shot they made on the course because the course is fixed, so they’re adding the information onto something they already know. And like you, the eyes looking up etc. theory does sound intriguing. We must be extra careful in future.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

