Weekend Wrap-Up

1

January 14, 2012 by k. liz

I admit. I haven’t been diligent in reading educational posts this week. I got a little sucked into a novel, and that might have possibly commandeered a bit of my time. Plus, I’m still on winter break from grad school so I am rather reveling in that fact. But, there a couple of things that I would like to pass along to you this week.

1. How to Focus in the Age of Distraction: this is a really awesome graphic that gives some really clear ideas for how to effectively work in the digital age in which we live. Props to Jeff Dunn for sharing this with us! I will say that it raises one question for me . . . but you’ll have to wait for a coming post to hear what that is! Seriously though, go check this out, maybe print it out, and put it next to your workspace!

2. Chrome Youtube Download App: Anyone using the Google Chrome web browser needs to know about this. Youtube is blocked at my school, but if you search for the Chrome Youtube App, you can install a tool that will give you one click download ability on any youtube video. The app creates a button underneath of the videos you view on youtube that says “Download.” You can then choose which format to download in and click! You’re done! This is a great asset for any teacher who doesn’t have internet or youtube access in the classroom!

3. The Language Garden: You’ve got to go and check this program out! It is ideal for a writing class, but I know that it could be adapted for any class and any subject. It is a beautiful and really intriguing program. I haven’t used it this year because my Kindergarten students cannot read yet, but I highly recommend checking it out and experimenting with the different ways to use it as grammar prompts, writing prompts, etc. And many thanks to David Warr for the work that you have done on this awesome program! Here’s an example of a quick quote that I put together by George Evans.

4. And finally . . . a couple of free books that I think will appeal to some teachers out there! (By the way, if you don’t have a Kindle app on your phone, iPod, or computer . . . you should. So, please, just go and get it. Now. After that, you can download these books for free and read them on basically any electronic device.)

And now . . . back to Narnia and gearing up for a 3 a.m. Denver Broncos game. Gonna be an exciting night!!

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Wonderful! Thank you for your kind words. It’s great to hear this, it keeps me (and my developer!) going.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

