Tuesday Tricks: What’s in my bag?

2

February 7, 2012 by k. liz

Guess what? I took a break. 🙂 I know we’re not very far into the year yet, but . . . yeah.

I just started back to school today after a two-week winter holiday. And last week I started up my Master’s Program again. Already within one week, I have had lots of thought fodder for posts soon to come! But, for today I have another time-filler for you. I enjoy this one because I think that it taps in a bit to the critical thinking and imaginative sector of the brain, and still gives a lot of practice with language.

What’s in my bag?

I played this with my kids today while we were waiting for the buses to come. I peered down into my imaginary bag and said “Oh, what’s in m bag? It’s something small . . . and white . . .” Then I waited for them to guess for a while before adding some more clues. I finally told them that it was a part of their body. They were looking all over, so I smiled for them and they finally guessed “Teeth!”

We pulled a few more things out of my bag like a snowman, a duck, a dinosaur, etc. We often play charades and pictionary, but this gave me a new way to practice lots of common vocabulary and see whether or not my kids could visualize it themselves in their heads.

Let me know if you give it a try! It’s a good ‘waiting in line’ game.

Leave a comment below with your favorite 5-minute time filler.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tricks: What’s in my bag?

  1. Catherine says:

    Hi there

    I really like your post – have you tried talking on your imaginary mobile to imaginary people? ‘Who’s on the phone?’ It could be a character from a story you’ve read with them, or some other person who has been discussed in class. From a teaching point of view, the idea of speaking to someone over the phone allows you to repeat or re-formaulate the questions asked, before ‘relaying’ the imaginary answer. And you can ask them to keep the noise down so that you can hear what’s being said … always a plus with little ones.

    • k. liz says:

      Hey! Thank you so much for the idea!! I read your comment while I was still at school and used it at the end of the day. I need to practice myself . . . but they did well with it! It was really fun and they got very excited about the new game.

      Thanks for the idea!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

