Thursday Scholar . . . on Friday

1

March 8, 2012 by k. liz

So, forgive me in advance. I was actually super excited about writing a post today, because I’ve been reading some really interesting things. But, then I ended up reading and reading, until now – 11:30, and I don’t think either of us would appreciate what would happen if I my enthusiasm over Ausubel’s Subsumption Theory, Gardner’s Multiple Intelligences, and Sternberg’s Triarchic view of intelligence tried to make its way on to my blog right now.

So, I’ll leave you with that exciting introduction and promise to be back tomorrow with some actual thoughts on those things. Okay? Cool.

In the meantime . . . I have some super exciting news about the coming summer.
If you’ve been following me for a while, you will know that I have spent time in Senegal the last two summers teaching English and working with a University team in a cultural exchange setting. Well, this year, we are branching out and my husband and I are going to run an English camp in conjunction with a middle/high school in the city where we’ve been the last two summers. This is a nerve-wracking, but really exciting endeavor that I am actually hoping will grow into something much bigger! I’m sure that there will be more posts to come on this topic, but for now, I’d really appreciate if you checked out our website and considered donating materials and/or money for the trip! We will be teaching 60 students during the week and then doing workshops on the weekend with teachers. I think that it will be a great opportunity for us and them to learn from each other. We definitely cannot do it on our own, so we are hoping to get a lot of people on board with our vision that will help us to make this a reality.

Please email if you have any questions or comments!

20120308-233751.jpg

One thought on “Thursday Scholar . . . on Friday

  1. Hello there,

    A fascinating project. Good for you! I’m too skint to contribute, unfortunately, but I’ve just come back from a 2-day university thingy on ‘African Theology’ which kinda sorta dovetails with the sort of thing you’re looking to so with REV. It’s a very small world.

    Best of luck – Africa is the future, really

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

