Tuesday Tricks: Thriving at the End

Leave a comment

May 29, 2012 by k. liz

I just finished my school day about 10 minutes ago, and I am more than a little disappointed/depressed about it. I’m not sure if it is the three hour program rehearsals, the broken fish bowl and subsequent bloody knee, or the fact that I don’t feel we are learning or doing anything of importance.

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed this before or not, but I view objectives as a really big thing in life, and when they are missing, then meaning is also missing. We are in the last week and a half of school here, and I am finding it difficult to stay motivated and excited. I sometimes leave school feeling like the worst teacher on the planet, and so today, as I was muddling in those feelings, I decided to post on a possible solution. Now, please realize, that this is something I am writing to myself just as much as to you, so it’s not like years of experience have proven to me that this is the answer. It’s just a suggestion from a fellow struggling teacher at the end of the school year.

We have 8 days left of school. As I was sitting here today, thinking of how to make the best of these last 8 days rather than just cruise through, I thought – hm, I really need to have good objectives for every day. Now, this is kindergarten, and we are already past the biggest parts of the school year, which means that we don’t have super important lessons still to fit in, and everyone is on summer mode. Therefore, these objectives are not going to be deep, intellectual objectives, but rather little things that I want to attempt during the day for both my students and myself. I want to set goals so that I can feel like I have accomplished something by the end of the day, even if it is just something little. So, here are a few of the goals I want to implement for my last 8 days with the little guys:

1. Teach them a new song.
2. Read them a new story.
3. Play a team building game.
4. Try a group activity.
5. Tell a story together.
6.  Take a crazy end-of-the year picture.
7. Try to recall memories.
8. Be sure to tell them all I love them.

What goals will you come up with for your classes for the end of the year?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

