Teacher Tuesday: Meet Nik Peachey

Leave a comment

June 26, 2012 by k. liz

Hey everybody, welcome to my Tuesday series highlighting different teachers through the summer. If you’re interested in answering my questions and being highlighted here, just click here to visit the form. And now let me introduce you to . . .

Nik Peachey

@NikPeachey

What do you teach?

I train teachers to use technology.

What age do you teach?

Mostly adults.

What setting do you teach in?

Freelance, so could be anywhere in the world!

Why did you want to be a teacher?

I originally wanted to be a musician, but started teaching guitar in a prison and enjoyed it. Teaching English was supposed to be temporary, but when I did the CELTA I got hooked and really enjoyed the human contact and the ability to influence and open people’s minds a little.

Was anyone an inspiration to you to become a teacher?

I had a very inspirational guitar teacher who taught me how to be an autonomous learner. That’s the single greatest and most wonderful gift I ever received.

What is your favorite thing about teaching?

Meeting so many different people from so many different cultures and discovering how much we all have in common.

What is your favorite classroom activity?

Probably the ‘hot seat’ game where students sit with their backs to the board and teams have to explain words to them.

Do you have a funny memory from teaching?

I have so many. One of my fondest is of a group I taught late on Friday evening in Kiev. Five minutes before the end of the lesson they would start to pull out food and drink that they had brought along and a guitar would appear and we would end up leaving the classroom about midnight. Each person who came to throw us out of the classroom would end up being dragged into the party and the room would gradually fill up. Happy days.

Do you have a touching/emotional memory from teaching?

I guess as someone who has moved around so much over the last 20 years I’m glad to have so many friends in so many countries, but sad to know that I’ll never see many of them again.

How has being a teacher changed your life?

Beyond all comprehension. I’ve traveled to so many countries and met so many people that I never would have. Seen some wonderful things and been to some wonderful places. Experienced places in ways that you never could as a tourist just visiting for a holiday.

If you could change one thing about education, what would you change?

It would be hard to stop at just one thing. There’s so much that needs changing. I guess smaller class sizes with more and better paid teachers.

If you could be any color, what would you be?

as dark and mysterious as night

If you could have any superpower, what would you have?

the ability to cure illness

Where can we find you?

This site links to just about all the things I do.

You should definitely go and check out some of the things that Nik Peachey has going on. I had the opportunity to listen to a talk he gave in Istanbul about using technology in the classroom. He has lots of great resources and ideas!!

Thanks so much, Nik, for answering these questions for me!

Be sure to fill out the questionnaire to be highlighted, and come back next week to meet someone new!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

