Teacher Tuesdays: Meet Martin Sketchley

Leave a comment

July 4, 2012 by k. liz

Welcome back to my Tuesday series highlighting different teachers through the summer. If you’re interested in answering my questions and being highlighted here, just click here to visit the form. And now let me introduce you to . . .

Martin Sketchley

What do you teach?

Business & General English, Pre-sessional Courses, etc

What age do you teach?

All ages (Adults, YLs, Teenagers, etc)

What setting do you teach in?

British Council Romania

Why did you want to be a teacher?

I kind of fell into this job. I was initially a back-packer teacher in South Korea and after a year of teaching (un-certified), I decided to complete a CELTA course at the BC Korea. After returning to the UK, I realised that I wanted to continue teaching and return to the classroom. I was then working for a local school and charity organisation. I am now teaching in Bucharest with the British Council and find myself enjoying everyday.

Anyhow, in answer to your question “Why?”: I just enjoy it.

Was anyone an inspiration to you to become a teacher?

My initial experience of schooling at an early age was not a great one. I remember having many teachers and deciding “If I ever become a teacher, I will not be like them”. I suppose that was one inspiration from all the bad teachers that I experienced.

However, when I was at University I noticed that selected teachers worked extremely hard to support learners and I remember really enjoying the classes. I guess that was one inspiration.

Nowadays, my colleagues are a great inspiration.

What is your favorite thing about teaching?

I think the favourite thing for me is when you see that spark in the learners and they finally realise what it means. Suddenly it all starts to make sense to them.

What is your favorite classroom activity?

Speaking to the learners, rather than teaching to the learners.

Do you have a funny memory from teaching?

Too many to think of at the moment.

Do you have a touching/emotional memory from teaching?

I remember teaching a group of University students from Japan. I taught them for two weeks and they were model learners. They tried extremely hard to study in class and practice target language. They also had a chance to play some communicative games.

After the course finished, we were all having a buffet and sharing our experiences of learning a foreign language. Suddenly, the Japanese learners started to get a bit tearful and emotional. They were saying how they would miss us and gave us gifts and postcards from Japan.

One postcard was signed by the class and they all wrote a touching message. I still keep it with all my materials to remind me how much teachers can inspire learners.

How has being a teacher changed your life?

I have been able to travel around the world, connect with people and develop my academic standing.

If you could change one thing about education, what would you change?

I would change the way public schooling is taught: learners having the same teacher throughout their primary and secondary school, focusing on the learners themselves rather than targets achieved, supporting and caring about the students and being more human in the class.

If you could be any color, what would you be?

Green

If you could have any superpower, what would you have?

the ability to travel faster than sound

Where can we find you?

Website: www.eltexperiences.com
Twitter: @ELTExperiences
Email: martinsketchley@gmail.com

Be sure to check out his website as there is a lot of helpful material on there! Awesome stuff! Thank you so much, Martin, for sharing!

Don’t forget, all you have to do is take 10 minutes to answer these questions here if you want to be a part of my Teacher Tuesday series!!

click here to meet Nik Peachey

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

