Back to School: Music for the Classroom

Leave a comment

August 31, 2012 by k. liz

So, I just published a post that mentioned the benefits of using music in the classroom. I have not used music much in the classroom, but I have recently come across some great music that I think would work well for our students. The infographic that I shared mentioned that classical music has the best effects on students scores and concentration. I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time staying engaged with classical music for a long time, but I think that I may have solved my problem this summer. I have been introduced to or come across a couple of different groups that have taken pop songs and “classicalized” them. I don’t know about you, but I love the style, and I love being able to sing words in my head without being distracted by them.

Maybe none of that makes sense to anyone else, but I thought I’d at least share a couple of these artists. You can find a bunch of their stuff on Youtube and purchase their songs on iTunes.

Aston Music: This is a group of young people that create a classical symphony sound with several pop hits.

The Piano Guys: These guys are awesome, and they have a broader range of styles (some older music, and some newer music.)

Lindsey Stirling: Okay, so she doesn’t have quite as much that I would put into the “classicalized pop” category, but her stuff is incredible and beautiful, and still worth a look!

Let me know your favorite classroom music in the comments section, and let me know if your thoughts on these picks!!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

