Back to School: Sharing is Caring

1

August 31, 2012 by k. liz

So . . . I’m trying my best (in the midst of taking this last week of actual time to just chill and relax) to gear up for the next school year so that it can be successful without being stressful. In my exploration of the internet recently, I’ve come across a couple of really good tools for the coming year. So, I wanted to share a couple with you.

1. Here is a good post with a compilation of great games for the classroom. A good reference to give you ideas before the school year starts! There are some new ideas here that I had never heard of before, so you should definitely go and check it out!

2. This is an awesome word cloud creator. I had been trying to use Wordle.net this morning, and it just wasn’t working for me at all, so I came across Tagxedo.com and I like it so much better! There are a lot of options for font, color, theme, shape, etc. The other thing that I really like is that if you create a word cloud and use it within the website in your classroom, any time you hover your mouse over a word it zooms in and makes the word horizontal so that it is easy to focus on and read. Here is one that I just created quickly. I’m thinking this would make a great “Getting to Know Me” activity. You could create columns of sentences such as:

I am __________________.       I like __________________.    My hobbies are _________________.

You could then have the students look through the word cloud and try to put the words in the appropriate columns. Otherwise, you could show them the cloud and have them brainstorm the sentences for each word. The software is really easy to use, and you could have the students follow up by making one about themselves. Lots of possibilities!!

3. Perhaps this will give you the last little push you need to start utilizing music in your classroom!! Need some inspiration for music for the classroom? Comment with your favorite classroom music below.

 

One thought on “Back to School: Sharing is Caring

  1. Excellent games collection. Thank you! Enjoy the start of term : )

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

