Back to School: Grouping Materials

Leave a comment

September 1, 2012 by k. liz

As I said yesterday, I’ve been trying to gear up for the semester and brainstorming any materials that I think I might need. I have heard of this idea before (I’m really sorry I don’t have any references or names or resources! If you know whose idea this is, then please leave it in the comments below!)

Basically, I’ve created a resource that will allow me to take a class of 20 students and group them quickly and easily while never pairing them with the same students (in theory!) Please read to the end to download this resource for free! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, here’s how this works: When each student comes into the classroom, on a day that you plan to use groups, you can give them one of these cards. There are options for putting the students in groups of 5, 4, 3, or 2. You’ll notice that on each card there is a number, animal, weather icon, and letter. By grouping students according to the number on the card, you will be grouping them into groups of 5, by grouping them by animals, you will be grouping them in groups of 4, and so on. I have included an extra 4 cards for those days when you have a few more than 20 students (they are the cards with the underlined initial number).

The purpose of these cards is to be able to quickly move from groups of 5 to groups of 4, and so on. However, if you want all of the groups to have the same number and just mix up their partners you could have them find the person with the same letter, change cards and then group according to number again. (I have a feeling all of this is not making sense, but I’m pretty sure you’ll understand what to do. 🙂

So, anyways, I spent a considerable amount of time putting these together this morning, so I thought I would share them with you. The only thing I ask is that if you would like to use these or download these for use in the future, please share this post on twitter and click the like button! I’d love to know how many people get some use out of these, so let me know!

Click here to download: grouping materials

Have a great start to your semester!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

