Ready, Set . . . here we go! Updates and Questions and Stuff . . .

1

September 14, 2012 by k. liz

So, the school year is just about here. I must say that I am itching for classes to start up! I have spent the last week and a half at my new University – Bahcesehir University in Istanbul. We have been having induction sessions, getting to know how things work and making sure that we are ready for next Tuesday when we meet our students for the very first time!! We have also been administering some placement exams, so things have been slowly getting to the back to school mode.

I also just started up my master’s classes again, so that has been extremely exciting, but I am still working on the whole get into a routine thing. This semester I am taking Psycholinguistics, Sociolinguistics, and Integrating Culture into the Language Curriculum. So . . . you can expect to see some thoughts on those topics throughout the semester!

I am pretty sure that within the next two weeks I will be able to get back into a normal schedule for blogging. I really hope so, anyway! Right now I have just been in organizational meetings all day and then I have a longer commute this year than last. (Hmmmm . . . 3 minutes compared to over an hour . . . yeah, it’s taking a little getting used to!!) So, anyways, I promise that I am working on brainstorming a schedule. I am getting excited about a couple of blog ideas I have for the coming year, so go ahead and subscribe or bookmark my site, because I’m hoping to have some really awesome collaboration going on here in the next couple of weeks.

The last thing I wanted to ask you all about are two online tools – Tumblr and Linkdin. Do you have thoughts on either of them? Have you used them? How do you use them? Are they worth it? I just created a tumblr account tonight, just for exploration purposes. I am thinking about using it for my classes as an inspiration board, but I’m not sure if I like it yet or not. So . . . let me know your thoughts on it!! I also don’t have a Linkdin account yet, but I’ve started receiving requests, so I am considering it.

Last, but not least – because I’m pretty sure I’ve read somewhere that every blog should have a picture . . . and because I’d really like to introduce you to Narli, our new little obsession around the house. 🙂 Isn’t she adorable?

One thought on “Ready, Set . . . here we go! Updates and Questions and Stuff . . .

  1. Hi there KylieLiz

    I’m glad you’re back safe & well, and raring to go… I have no experience of Tumblr, but I did sign up for linkedin. I haven’t found it to be of the slightest use myself, but then I’m an anti-social media type (ie I don’t think I’ll be tweeting my menu choices …) and what I will say is that once you’ve signed on to these things you cannot get yourself erased. My viadeo account is a case in point. (see contact page on my blog) And it ain’t just me. I had a job interview with a very high-powered lady over the summer, and I looked her up on viadeo so I’d have some idea who I’d be working for. (so it is of some use potentially, I suppose) When her background came up during the conversation, I mentioned that I’d visited her profile for info, and she laughed and said ‘since I’m stuck with the thing now, I know I have to maintain it’.

    Don’t know if that helps …..

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

