Leave a comment

October 20, 2012 by k. liz

This has actually been my most popular post on this blog, and I will be revisiting it myself this week as I start advice language in my academic skills class. I thought I’d share it again with all of you. Hope it’s helpful!!

Just a Word

I enjoy sharing speaking lesson plans, since my speaking classes don’t follow a book or curriculum, only a list of topics. This week, we are preparing for next week’s speaking final, in which the students will have to speak for 2-3 minutes on one of three topics. One of the topics is giving advice. Here is the lesson plan I developed for this topic:

Level: Upper beginner/Lower intermediate
Time: 50 minutes
Materials: Dear Abby strips; whiteboard

For this lesson, I began by eliciting advice language from my students – for example:
You should ______…
You must _______…
You can _______…

I found it helpful today to give the students these phrases with a general sense of importance. This gave my students a reference for which verb to choose based on how important the information they were sharing was. For example:
can, could, may = 50%
should, ought to = 80%

View original post 822 more words

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

