Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

January 3, 2013 by k. liz

Happy New Year everyone!! I hope that you had a wonderful start to 2013 and are excited about all of the prospects that it’s going to bring! I was browsing an amazing blog this morning that you should definitely check out, Leaky Grammar, and I was inspired to quickly write out my own goals for this year here to share with all of you. With that being said, I am shamelessly borrowing ideas from Gavin at Leaky Grammar and some other inspirational friends that I have. So, without further ado, here are my goals for 2013 as pertains to language and education.

On this blog:

  1. Get back into a schedule.
  2. Organize!! I want this to be a more practical and user-friendly site to explore.
  3. Comment more on other blogs and generate a bigger community here.

In the classroom:

  1. Plan better!
  2. Experiment with more activities, but choose some good staples that I can work into a schedule.
  3. Continue to develop my philosophy and view of language learning so that I can help my students be successful (especially I need to continue developing my philosophy of work with Turkish students, because that is something new from when I first developed my philosophy in University!)

In my language/linguistics life:

  1. Become fluent in Turkish. Okay, so, baby steps. Read a novel in Turkish, start writing in Turkish, speak more . . . 
  2. Start playing around with Spanish again.
  3. Submit proposals to at least 6 conferences. (1 down!! Though, I guess I submitted it last year, but the conference is this year.)

What are your goals for 2013?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 844 other followers

My other blog

