Hello Again!! + a Thanksgiving Idea or 2 . . .

2

November 14, 2013 by k. liz

Well, that was a much longer hiatus than I had planned on taking!! But, I am back!! In the time between when I last posted and now, I have moved back to America for a new job for my husband, seen my little sister married, started a new job, and . . . drumroll please!! . . . found out that I am expecting my first little one in April of 2014!! So, forgive me, but my thoughts have been elsewhere recently. 🙂

baby2

However, I am still working hard to start my language school here in D.C., and as that progresses, I really need this blog to help motivate and get me back into the scene.

I do currently have one student that I am working with, and in all honesty, it has been stretching me! I am not that great with 1) adult students or 2) one-on-one lessons. This student is both!! But, I am working on it. I’d appreciate any help or ideas you all have!!

Today, we are going to be discussing Thanksgiving, and I decided as a speaking prompt, to take screen shots of Google Image searches in order for my student to make some guesses/deductions about some questions I have for him regarding Thanksgiving.

Here are a couple of the screenshots that I’ve taken:

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 12.09.34 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 12.11.12 PMAnd here are some of the questions I plan on talking through with him:

What do you know about Thanksgiving?
  • What is it?
  • When is it?
  • Where is it?
  • Who celebrates it?
  • Why do they celebrate it?
  • How do they celebrate it?
When you hear “Thanksgiving” what adjectives do you think of?
What things go with Thanksgiving?
  • Food
  • Colors
  • Activities
Have you ever celebrated Thanksgiving?
Do you like Thanksgiving?
Is there something similar to Thanksgiving in your culture? 
 

I’m looking forward to using the google image search idea more often to just give an overview. How do you use pictures in your teaching? What are you planning on doing for Thanksgiving in your classroom?

2 thoughts on “Hello Again!! + a Thanksgiving Idea or 2 . . .

  1. swisssirja says:

    Congratulations!!!! What beautiful news to brighten up November 🙂
    Wishing you best of luck for your professional endeavors and your growing family!

  2. […] have been trying recently to get my head back in the game of teaching as I explained in this last post. Not only that, but my only teaching opportunity at the moment is a bit of a stretch for me. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

