Let’s Do Something Awesome!

Leave a comment

January 15, 2014 by k. liz

So, plans have changed a little bit in my life. I’d written on here right around New Years about how I was starting to teach for my start-up institute at the end of January. Well, as we were moving forward, my team and I decided to stop and take a long look at how things were going. We decided that it wasn’t quite time to take this step. I was being really tormented between the need to take a risk, and the need to be completely prepared. Not everything had lined up as we had hoped, and as my husband and I are new to the area we didn’t have the support community that we wanted yet to surround us. So, admitting that, we are postponing the official opening of EDGE until summer/fall 2014. It’s still coming, and we are still really excited, but it’s just going to be a little bit longer. And you know what? That’s okay! It’s still not my year of mediocrity. I’m getting more and more excited to meet this little person inside of me in less than 13 weeks! So, I definitely have stuff on my plate for now!

However, the one thing that saddens me a little bit, is that I was looking forward to jumping back into teaching to help fuel this blog. I love this blog, and it surprises me sometimes how many of you still read it, even when I am not posting regularly. It thrills my heart! But, I really want to be improving myself daily, even when I’m not teaching daily. So, please keep me accountable! I think I’ll be restructuring a bit today to make the blog a bit more navigable and understandable. I welcome any feedback! I’m planning on doing some book reviews on here (although, if you want any reviews on non-educational books, you should check out my other blog!)

Anyways, I woke up this morning trying to decide what I wanted to write about on here, and for some reason, upon waking up, I was thinking about values in the classroom. This could be because I fell back asleep listening to news reports this morning after my husband left for work {oops}. But to be honest, I really don’t know where the thought came from. But, I really wanted to reach out to you, the education community, and ask you this question:

What is our role, as educators, in teaching/encouraging/fostering values and/or morals in our students?

I am going to think about this for a little while, and then post thoughts on it in a week or so but I’m really hoping to get some feedback from all of you. Share it with your friends, ask your students, talk it over with your dog, and write me your thoughts {form at the bottom of the post}!! Does the classroom consist only of subject-related matter? As an English teacher, am I only responsible for my students grammar and pronunciation, or is there something more that I should be doing or focusing on? {I hope that if you’ve read much of my blog you already know that I have some thoughts on this, but I’d like to deal with the matter in a bit of depth.} One place I know I’ll be looking is in Paulo Freire’s Pedagogy of FreedomI was also very happy to stumble upon Kid President’s Pep Talk to Teachers & Students this morning. While we are all mulling on the role of values/morals in the classroom, I hope you are all encouraged by this clip to do something awesome!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

My other blog

