Weekend Wrap-Up

1

March 14, 2014 by k. liz

Happy Friday again, friends! Sorry about the lack of posts this week. Anyone else get really wiped out by Daylight Savings time? We also had a really busy weekend, and then this week, I’ve been a little preoccupied with finally getting our 1023 application for tax-exempt status for EDGE Institute in the mail!! What I thought was going to be an easy process ended up taking hours and hours over the span of a couple of months. But, it is finally in the mail, and I have breathed a huge sigh of relief!! So, now, onto some things to share this week.

1. How Comic Strips Help Kids Read and Learn from Scholastic: I found this post interesting this morning, basic, but interesting, because I had just been thinking about using comic strips for use with an adult student that I have. I found a free comic book at my local library last night, so I brought it home and plan on looking through to see how well it will work with an adult student. What do you think? Do you use comics or graphic novels with your students? Do you prefer having them read or write them? What’s your favorite comic to use?

2. Chat Packs: My mom gave me a pack of these a couple of months ago, and I have been using them with my adult student. I really like them, then I decided to share them with you today, hopped on their website, and liked them even more! By purchasing Chat Packs, you are supporting working adults with disabilities. So, it’s a pretty awesome thing when you think about it! I know you can always find lists of conversation starters online, but there is something about the little case and pulling out a card and looking over it together that is fun and gives the sense that you are doing a different activity, rather than just another print-out from the internet.

3. Education is NOT the Same as Schooling by Learn Liberty: This is a well done video just briefly overviewing why schools operate the way they do, and why that is. I will want to explore more on this channel, for my own use, and possibly for use with students, as the videos are beautifully illustrated and easy to follow.

4. Solving It on TED Radio Hour: {I don’t think that this is linked directly to this podcast, so if you are looking in archives, it is the broadcast from March 14, 2014.} I haven’t listened to ALL of this yet, because I put it on when I am drifting off to sleep at times. But, if you are a podcaster, and you are not listening to this show, you need to. This takes clips from popular TED speeches and formats them for radio including interviews with the speakers. The reason I’m sharing this one is because the main theme is solving problems, and one of the problems that comes up in the podcast is a teacher who was sued because she lowered a students grade by 10% because he turned it in late. This looks at how can we deal with issues like this. What are your thoughts?

5. Quote for you:

educationarmy.jpgSo, I had a really hard time with this today, because everything I found online was either very controversial, and I didn’t have the space or time to give an entire discourse on it, or it was super basic. So . . . please, tell me what has been inspiring you lately!

 

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. debbiemac5 says:

    I love that quote. I spent time working in a closed country this past summer and have seen the effect that education and exposure to simply learning that thinking for oneself is a possibility can have on a group of people. To see first hand what it looks like when education is prohibited and restricted is one of the most unsettling things I have ever experienced. It has made me appreciate the liberty we have to learn and has really impacted the way that I teach.

    Oh, and in response to your question last week, I enjoy and look forward to your Weekend Wrap-Ups!

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

