Weekend Wrap-Up

1

May 23, 2014 by k. liz

Wow! Shocker! I’m posting!! Yes, yes . . . thank you, thank you. I have been working my way back into the blogging world {primarily on my other blog . . . which is where you should go if you’d like to read the story behind our little one’s name!} And . . . it took me three days to write one short little post. But . . . you don’t really care about that. I’ve been stocking up some really great stuff to share with you guys today! So, let’s get to it.

1. Nothing Changes: You know I love videos for the classroom. Recently, I have been collecting ideas for videos from a site called Upworthy Now, you have to weed through a lot of {what I consider} junk to get some good ones. But, that being said, I have stumbled across some great video sites through them, so just throwing that out there. This video could be used for a note-taking activity, especially because it incorporates both text and audio. Students could also follow up by writing their own inspirational letter to someone {maybe themselves?} or researching someone else who did not peak until later in life and presenting them to the class.

2. This Is a Generic Brand Video: Another video {also found on Upworthy}! I think this would be a fun one to incorporate in a lesson about business and/or advertising. Students could identify types of advertising that the video uses and abuses and perhaps write a response piece about advertising and its influence on culture and society.

3. Colorin Colorado!: This site looks awesome! Many thanks to Christian, who I met at the dog park, for sharing it with me! You may notice that there are also connected sites at the bottom of the page, which will probably make their way onto a Friday post sooner or later, but I wanted to share this one today. There are lots of resources for ELLs and their teachers. And bonus! It’s a bilingual Spanish-English site! Have fun exploring!

4. Why I Wish I Was a Non-Native English Speaking Teacher: by James Taylor on the blog Advocating Equal Hiring Practices and Employment Rights in TEFL. This is a great summary on why Non-Native English Speaking Teachers make great teachers.

5. Seven Word Biographies: by James Taylor. Oh, welcome to the blog James Taylor! In looking up his info for the previous share, I fell in love with this activity he had on his personal blog. Such a great icebreaker!

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. James Taylor says:

    Thanks Kylie for both the mentions and the warm welcome, it’s much appreciated. 🙂

    If you like videos, check out my Silent Movies series: http://theteacherjames.com/category/silentmovies/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other followers

My other blog

