COMPS

Leave a comment

March 9, 2013 by k. liz

IMG_7149So, my comprehensive exams are coming up in May, and I am in a study group. So, I am studying. Or trying to. I am working back through what I have learned over the last few years, and it feels good to see a visible change in my comprehension and understanding of academic topics related to linguistics and language acquisition. I thought I would share with you what happened to my desk this morning, and ask you in turn what your favorite Applied Linguistics/ELT/Educational book has been thus far in your career? Looking at my stack, I think I might narrow it down to these three:

Dana, N., and Diane H.. The reflective educator’s guide to classroom research: learning to teach and teaching to learn through practitioner inquiry. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Corwin Press, 2009.

Darder, A., M. Baltodano, and R. D. Torres. The critical pedagogy reader. 2nd ed. New York, NY: Routledge, 2009.

Freire, P. Pedagogy of freedom: ethics, democracy, and civic courage. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1998.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 846 other subscribers

My other blog